• home
  • General Info
  • General Information

General Information

Location

The Korean peninsula, roughly 1,030 kilometers long and 175 kilometers wide at its narrowest point, is located in Northeast Asia. With Seoul as its capital city, Korea's total land area is 100,033 kilometers squared. Korea's neighbors include Japan to the east, China to the west, and Democratic People's Republic of Korea (North Korea) across the northern border.

Weather during the AAFITN 2020

Korea has four seasons, with a summer season in the middle of the year, and a cold winter from November to March. The Ideal time to visit Korea is during the spring month(mid-march ~ June). During this time, the country experiences warm, sunny, weather, skies that are cobalt blue and spectacular foliage that is perhaps the biggest draw.

https://www.treksplorer.com/best-time-to-visit-korea-weather/

Language

Hangeul (한글), Korea’s official alphabet, was first invented by King Sejong during the Joseon Dynasty. Originally called Hunminjeongeum (훈민정음), the language was conceived in 1443, and further promulgated by the King in 1446. At the time of its inception, the language consisted of 17 consonants and 11 vowels however, since then, 3 of the originally established consonants and 1 vowel have fallen into disuse bringing the total number of characters to 24. Syllables are formed by the selective combination of vowels and consonants to create words.

Time Difference

When Indicating Korea Time: Present Time (GMT+9) / No daylight savings time

City Time
Seoul, Tokyo (Korea Time) 1:00 4:00 7:00 10:00 13:00 16:00 19:00 22:00
Taipei, Manila, Hong Kong,
Kuala Lumpur, Singapore
24:00 3:00 6:00 9:00 12:00 15:00 18:00 21:00
Bangkok, Jakarta 23:00 2:00 5:00 8:00 11:00 14:00 17:00 20:00
New Delhi, Kolkata 21:30 0:30 3:30 6:30 09:30 12:30 15:30 18:30
Teheran 20:30 23:30 2:30 5:30 8:30 11:30 14:30 17:30
Hamburg, Rome, Paris, Amsterdam 18:00 21:00 00:00 3:00 6:00 9:00 12:00 15:00
London, Madrid 17:00 20:00 23:00 2:00 5:00 8:00 11:00 14:00
Rio de Janeiro, S`ao Paulo 13:00 16:00 19:00 22:00 1:00 4:00 7:00 10:00
New York, Montreal, Toronto 12:00 15:00 18:00 21:00 24:00 3:00 6:00 9:00
Chicago, Houston, Bogota 11:00 14:00 17:00 20:00 23:00 2:00 5:00 8:00
Vancouver, Seattle, San Francisco,
Los Angeles
9:00 12:00 15:00 18:00 21:00 24:00 3:00 6:00
Sydney, Melbourne 2:00 5:00 8:00 11:00 14:00 17:00 20:00 23:00

Business Hours

Government office hours are usually from 9:00 to 18:00 on weekdays. Banks are open from 9:00 to 16:00 on weekdays. Most stores are open every day from 10:30 to 20:00, including Sundays.

Currency & Exchange

Old Bills

  • 10,000 won (man won)
  • 5,000 won (ocheon won)
  • 1,000 won (cheon won)

New Bills

  • 10,000 won (man won)
  • 5,000 won (ocheon won)
  • 1,000 won (cheon won)
  • 50,000 won (oman won)

Coins

  • 500 won (obaek won)
  • 100 won (baek won)
  • 50 won (osip won)
  • 10 won (sip won)

Tip & Tax

Service charges are included in your bill for rooms, meals, and other services at hotels and upscale restaurants. Koreans occasionally do tip when they are especially pleased with the service they receive. Foreign tourists can receive nearly 10 % VAT refunds for purchases at Duty Free shops. Goods must be taken out of Korea within three months of purchase to be eligible for a tax refund. Visitors can receive a refund on a receipt for a minimum purchase of KRW 50,000 (around USD 43). To receive this refund, present receipts with the purchased goods at the customs clearance desk at Incheon International Airport when departing.

Electricity

The standard electricity supply is 220 volts AC/60 cycles. Most hotels may provide outlet converters for 110 and 220 volts. Participants are recommended to check with the hotel beforehand.

Emergency Phone Numbers

  • -1339: Medical Emergency
  • -119: Emergencies for Fire, Rescue & Hospital Services
  • -112: Police
  • -129: First Aid Services

Useful Websites

Organized by
Supported by
sponsored by